Lagos leads Ogun, Kano, others in internet subscription

Lagos, Ogun, Kano are the cities with the highest number of internet users in Nigeria.

This is contained in a recent Telecoms Data on Active Voice and Internet per State, Porting and Tariff Information report of Q4 2022 released by the National Bureau of Statistics (NBS)
The report shows that Lagos State had the highest number of internet users at 18.7 million subscribers, followed by Ogun with 9.2 million subscribers and Kano State with 8.5 million subscribers.

Also, the report disclosed that Bayelsa recorded the least number of 1.1 million internet users, followed by Ebonyi and Ekiti with 1.3 million and 1.5 million subscribers, respectively

Generally, there were 222.5 million active voice subscribers in Nigeria as of the end of 2022.

The 2022 figure showed an increase of 27.1 million subscribers over the 195.5 million subscribers recorded at the end of 2021.

Read also: How conversational messaging aids customer engagement for SMEs

It showed that the figure for the last quarter of 2022 represented a 13.87 percent rise in voice subscriptions on a year-on-year basis.

On a quarter-on-quarter basis, the report showed growth stood at 4.89 percent.

The NBS also recorded a total of 154.9 million active internet subscribers at the end of 2022 compared to 142 million recorded at the end of 2021.

This represents a 9.07 percent increase in active internet subscriptions year-on-year, while on a quarter-on-quarter basis, internet subscriptions grew by 1.35 percent.

On state-by-state analysis, the report showed that Lagos State had the highest number of active telephone users in 2022 at 26.5 million, followed by Ogun with 13 million users.

Kano State came third with 12.4 million telephone users.

Bayelsa had the least number of telephone users at 1.6 million subscribers, followed by Ebonyi and Ekiti with 1.9 million users and two million users, respectively.

Meanwhile, the NBS report showed that the majority of telephone users in Nigeria in 2022 were MTN subscribers, followed by others.